Posts Tagged ‘Shirley Jackson’

In Strange Girls, twenty-one authors dare to tackle what makes the girls in this collection different. Vampires, selkies, murderous mermaids, succubus, and possessed dolls take center stage in these short stories

Friday, March 6th, 2020

 

Strange Girls
A Women in Horror Anthology
with stories selected by Azurra Nox
Genre: YA Horror
For fans of American Horror Story, Shirley Jackson, and Creepshow.
You know them. Those girls that aren’t quite like everyone else. Those girls who stand out in the crowd. Those girls that dare to be different. Those girls are dangerous.
In Strange Girls, twenty-one authors dare to tackle what makes the girls in this collection different. Vampires, selkies, murderous mermaids, succubus, and possessed dolls take center stage in these short stories that are sure to invoke feelings of quiet terror and uneasiness in the reader. Following the successful debut of Women in Horror anthology with My American Nightmare, Strange Girls is the sophomore effort to showcase these talented women in a genre that is often dominated by the male gaze.
Dare to take a walk on the dark side.
Stories in the Anthology:
24 Hour Diner by Charlotte Platt
Sideshow by Jude Reid
The Doll’s House by Alyson Faye
Blood by Red Claire
Self-Portrait with Pears by Rachel Bolton
Personal Demons by Angelique Fawns
Friends with Benefits by E.F. Schraeder
Night Terrors by Angela Sylvaine
The Girl Who Never Stopped Bleeding by Sam Lauren
Leda and the Fly by Marnie Azzarelli
Jenny’s Bobo by Hillary Lyon
Extinguishing Fireflies by Rebecca Rowland
The Eyes of the Dead by Danielle R. Bailey
My Mirror Wife by Ash Tudor
Pattern of Faerytales by Azzurra Nox
Campfire Tales: The Bloody Rings by Emma Johnson-Rivard
Cracked by Regan Moore
Angel of Death by Phoebe Jane Johnson
Her Garden Grows by Maxine Kollar
Revival by Madison Estes
A Song Only She Can Hear by Wondra Vanian
Tribal Influence by Erica Ruhe
Goodreads * Amazon
Born in Catania, Sicily, Azzurra Nox has led a nomadic life since birth. She has lived in various European cities and Cuba, and currently resides in the Los Angeles area. Always an avid reader and writer from a young age, she loved entertaining her friends with ghost stories. She loves horror movies, cats, and a good rock show. She dislikes Mondays and chick-flicks. CUT HERE, her debut paranormal urban fantasy was inspired by a nightmare the writer had a few years ago. Some of her favourite authors include Anne Rice, Oscar Wilde, Chuck Palahniuk, and Isabella Santacroce.
Website * Blog * Facebook * Twitter * Instagram * Amazon * Goodreads
$10 Amazon Giftcard
Follow the tour HERE for special content and a giveaway!
 
 
a Rafflecopter giveaway

31 Ghost Stories to read before you died

Thursday, July 28th, 2016

banner-2

The blurb:

As readers of Deb Atwood’s blog Pen In Her Hand know, Atwood is passionate about ghost fiction. Since 2011, Atwood has read, re-read, and written about ghost literature. 31 Ghost Novels to Read Before You Die presents a selection of the best of these posts. 

 

Among the books discussed are old favorites (The Turn of the Screw by Henry James, The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson) as well as some indie gems few people will know about (The 20’s Girl, the Ghost, and All That Jazz by June Kearns). There are ghost novels for every reader, in genres ranging from historical to literary to romance. “

 

Author’s Top Ten List

10 Things About Me

  1.  I like spiders, but I’m afraid of yellow jackets (the insect, not the garment).
  2.  My hair is purple.
  3.  I love to wander around old cemeteries.
  4.  I have traveled throughout the Korean countryside (and treasured every minute).
  5.  My heart goes pitter patter for big dogs and fat cats.
  6.  If I had to choose one mode of travel, I would choose the train.
  7. I suffer from math phobia.
  8.  One time in London I inadvertently spent a night in a homeless hotel, and it changed me.
  9.  I’m a scaredy cat passenger in a car (as my husband will attest).
  10. I’m passionate about ghost fiction and ghost movies.

GhostNovelsCover-2

URL Links

Official Facebook Event page:

https://www.facebook.com/events/509284282529491/

Author Social Media Links:

Blog: www.PenInHerHand.com

Twitter: https://twitter.com/deb_atwood

 

Book Buy Links

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Ghost-Novels-Read-Before-You-ebook/dp/B01D7XMQIU/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/29564656-31-ghost-novels-to-read-before-you-die?from_search=true&search_version=service

Amazon UK: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Ghost-Novels-Read-Before-You-ebook/dp/B01D7XMQIU/

Amazon Canada: https://www.amazon.ca/Ghost-Novels-Read-Before-You-ebook/dp/B01D7XMQIU/

Amazon Australia: https://www.amazon.com.au/Ghost-Novels-Read-Before-You-ebook/dp/B01D7XMQIU/

 

Rafflecopter Giveaway:

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/330006f8224/